Your Australian University in Dubai

News Article

Annual Students Leadership Award Ceremony

Monday, 25 April, 2011

Over 120 UOWD students were recognized for their contributions to the UOWD student community over the past academic year at the 6th Annual Leadership Awards Ceremony and luncheon held on 20 April 2011.

Prof. Rob Whelan, President UOWD and Mr. Raymi van der Spek, Executive Director, Strategic Development and Administration attended the award ceremony along with the selection panel members.

The University Spirit Award for 2010-2011 was presented to Loy Pineihro for outstanding leadership displayed through his role as an executive member of various UOWD clubs. He has organized successful events for the students and has been a head marshall for the graduation ceremony, volunteered at orientations, represented UOWD at the Terry Fox run in Dubai and has been on the Deans merit list. He said, it is a huge honour being selected as this years recipient and I find it highly motivating- I am about to graduate and this award is a confidence booster.

The Honourable Mention recipient of the University Spirit Award was Sara Mukhtar, for demonstrating leadership through involvement in various activities: President of the Connexionz Club, peer tutor and SSD intern, Sara has organized successful events and most notably represented UOWD in successfully conquering Mount Kilimanjaro (Africas highest peak).

The Super S.T.A.R award for accumulating the most number of points in the Leadership program was clinched by Farhina Fakhir with 430 points followed by Nell Trinidade.

The Sportsperson of the Year Awards, which recognizes sportsmanship and contributions to the sporting community, was awarded to Fathimath Bellikunhi for her leadership qualities and for being a member on five UOWD sports teams. She also held the post of the Sports Liaison Officer in the current SRC and been very active in organizing events. Fathimath commented:. It is a big honour to receive this award, it is a proof that hard work never goes unappreciated.

Last years winner Robert Watts was awarded the Honourable Mention for being an outstanding captain of the mens volleyball team and leading them to win laurels locally and internationally.

The Student Service Award, which recognizes mentoring and volunteering contributions, was won by Farhina Fakhir. Farhina has been a volunteer at student orientations, the Ask me kiosk, Terry Fox run Dubai, welcome luncheons, Multicultural days and Wacky Wednesdays. Farhina who secured two awards said, it was a great surprise! Given the level of enthusiasm and the competition among the other shortlisted candidates, I feel very happy and proud to have achieved this honour.

Insiya Shabbir received the Honourable Mention for her volunteer work at the Ask me kiosk, orientations, Al Noor Charity Bazaar, AIB Mena event, Mathalon event and the Wollongong Cup.

The award for outstanding charity work and the OutReach Award, was presented to Javeria Shamim. Javeria undertook a number of fund raising activities including raising more than AED 6,000 for Pakistan flood relief campaign. She also assisted the Pakistan Association Dubai, and has done charity work for Sri Lanka..

Taher Kolhapurwala received Honourable Mention for the OutReach Award. He assisted in charity bake sale event, assisted in the special needs foundation fun fair event and at Al Noor special needs school.

The Safir Award, (which means ambassador in Arabic), is to recognize contributions in improving cultural relations on campus. Javeria Shamim won this award by ably demonstrating her contribution this by organizing events to promote the Pakistani culture to the UOWD community.

The Honourable Mention recipient was Rita Aker for being very active in the Amro Notun, Bangladesh Expatriates students club and creating an awareness of Bangladeshi culture at the University. Javeria said, being formally recognized for my efforts by the university and the staff has motivated me to work even harder for this club in the future.

Certificates of Participation were presented to 120 students in recognition of their involvement in student clubs, sports teams, STAR Leadership and volunteer work undertaken over the past academic year. Each recipient also received a special limited edition coffee mug designed specifically for the occasion.