Your Australian University in Dubai

News Article

UOWD employees praised during Annual Staff Excellence and Service Awards

Tuesday, 8 November, 2016

The University of Wollongong in Dubai (UOWD) recently hosted its Annual Staff Excellence and Service Awards celebrating the achievements and outstanding contributions of their most valuable asset, its staff.

Former cricket legend, Adam Gilchrist AM, Professor Paul Wellings, Vice-Chancellor of UOW, Ms Marisa Mastroianni, CEO of UOW Enterprises, Mr Peter Robson, Chairman of UOW Enterprises and other members of the UOWD Board were amongst the distinguished guests at the event.

UOWD staff was acknowledged for their achievements across a variety of categories which included long services awards and the Excellence, Quality, Integrity, Respect and Collegiality as well as the Exceptional Leadership in Diversity & Equity Award

The aim of the Staff Excellence is to make the employees aware that their hard work, loyalty and contributions are valued and appreciated by the University.

Adeline Ong, Human Resources Manager said: “Staff often go above and beyond their job expectations. We feel it is important to acknowledge those contributions to keep our staff motivated and inspired”.

“Thinking about our Alumni and upcoming graduating students it is worth reflecting on the involvement of the University’s professional and academic staff in providing them with an excellent academic experience. You are the driving force behind their success as well as that of the University itself”, commented Professor Paul Wellings.


2016 Staff Excellence and Service Award Recipients

Excellence in Service Delivery Award

Winner:  Saad Hilal


  • Amer Abou Daoud
  • Ivan D'Souza
  • Dr. Kamal Jaafar
  • Riman Oueiti

Quality Improvement Award

Winner: ITTS Team

Partnership Award

Winner: Dr. Alison Thirlwall


Integrity, Respect and Collegiality

Winners: LSC Teachers


  • Achuthan Palasseri
  • Franky Barreto
  • Teena Chandy

Exceptional Leadership in Diversity & Equity Award

Winner: Maryah Qureshi

Work Health & Safety Award

Winner: Nafeesa Anwar


Teaching Excellence Award 2016

Winner:  Dr Swapna Koshy


Highly commended:

  • Dr Kamal Jaafar
  • Dr Panagiotis Ganotakis


Research Excellence Award 2016

WinnerDr Flevy Lasrado and Dr Mohamed Watfa


Highly commended:

  • Dr Assane Lo
  • Dr Mohd Fareq Malek 



Winner: Dr Zeenath Khan

Exceptional ratings for 2015 performance

  • Amer Abou Daoud
  • Achuthan Palasseri
  • Eshita Patel
  • Dr Farhad Oroumchian
  • Dr Flevy Lasrado
  • Mary Ann Tamayo
  • Dr Mohamed Watfa
  • Dr Payyazhi Jayashree
  • Rajesh Prema


Staff Service Awards

5 years

  • Asma Damankesh
  • Ekaterina Ivanova
  • Eshita Patel
  • Karen Bermas
  • Mohammad Aiyub Sabir
  • Mona Mustafa
  • Ritu Sehgal
  • Visayaragavan Akambaram
  • Sureka Rathnayaka

10 years

  • Abdul Razack Lohar
  • Abdellatif Tchantchane
  • Arijit Sikdar
  • Joan Aviso
  • Lakshmi Anand
  • Mougamadou Farook
  • Paravakkal Alavikutty
  • Prakash Kumar Shankar
  • Ram Dhakal
  • Renganathan Varadharajan
  • Sadanaveni Ramesh


15 years

  • Joseph Aninias
  • Sora Tacio
  • Nandini Kaul


20 years

  • Afij Mohamed
  • Manoj Mathew