Your Australian University in Dubai

News Article

UOWD employees praised at Staff Excellence and Service Awards

Tuesday, 17 November, 2015

 Professor Paul Wellings CBE, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wollongong Australia, Mr Noel Cornish, Deputy-Chancellor of the University of Wollongong Australia and the UOWD Board of Directors were amongst the distinguished guests at an event held recently at the University of Wollongong in Dubai to honour the outstanding achievements of University staff.

Both professional and academic staff was acknowledge for their efforts across a range of categories including research, teaching, innovation and commitment to diversity and equality over the course of the awards ceremony. Staff reaching five, 10, 15 and 20 years of service were also recognised. In total there were 34 award recipients across seven categories.

Speaking during the ceremony, which is held on an annual basis, Mr Peter Robson, Chairman of the UOWD Board of Directors said: “UOWD have a deep appreciation of the effort that staff put in to ensure the University grows successfully and continues to succeed. Having been involved with the University for over ten years, it is an honour to witness the sustained efforts of staff. Events like this give us the perfect opportunity to celebrate their hard work.”

2015 Staff Excellence and Service Award Recipients

Excellence in Teaching

Dr Mohamed Watfa
Dr Soly Mathew Biju

Highly commended
Dr Balan Sundarakani

Excellence in Research

Dr Hela Miniaoi
Dr Abdelghani Benharref

Excellence in Service Delivery

Rahul Bijlani and Maria Pereira

Highly commended
Library Services
Eshita Patel

Innovation or Quality Improvement

Masood Iqbal

Exceptional Contribution to Work Health and Safety
Dr Mohamed Watfa

Exceptional Leadership in Diversity and Equality

Dr Ritu Sehgal and Dr Alison Thirlwall

Staff Service Awards

5 years
Racheal Bolaji
Lilibet Bathusha
Atekilt Teka
Rayna Dacsig
Saad Hilal
Ritu Shegal
Perla Pati-On Ma
Ali Humayaun
Sudheer Karimpanakkal
Maryah Qureshi
Leah Manalo

10 years
Mohammad Abdulaziz
Michael Willemyns
Gwendolyn Rodrigues
Naeem Muhammed
Said Muhammad
Toufik Belmamoun

15 years
Chetri Deoraj
Asima Shirazi

20 years
Mohamed Abdul Rasheed
Talib Ahmed