Your Australian University in Dubai

News Article

UOWD Shines at Public Speaking Tournament

Monday, 19 February, 2007

UOWD was named the overall winner of this years Wollongong Cup Public Speaking Competition. The second running of this event brought 11 UAE universities to the UOWD campus on Saturday, 17 February. Contestants competed across 6 public speaking categories: Public Address, Impromptu, Extemporaneous, Radio Newsreader, Storytelling-Original and Traditional. A finalist from last year, Rohini Kamath took the top prize in Impromptu Speaking. She drew the word "Google in the final round and gave an impressive 2-3 minute response to the judge panel. Tyson Peter Fernandes was also named a first place winner. Tyson won the top award in Original Storytelling with a comedic tale of a 5th grade spelling bee mishap entitled "The Word Connoisseur. Two first year students continue to distinguish themselves in the university competition circuit. Bushra Yakoob and Rumana Sadekar, part of the award winning UOWD debate team, also received top awards. Bushra took the top prize in Extemporaneous Speaking and Rumana took 3rd place in Traditional Storytelling. Also competing on the UOWD team were Ibrihim Matar in Public Address and Dahrine Hounaine in Radio Newsreading. The team was coached by College of Business Instructor, Dr. Swapna Koshy. Tournament Director, Melissa Bos, commented, "UOWD is proud to host such an exciting and dynamic competition that brings together talent from across the UAE. We were very pleased with the positive response from our corporate sponsors, the participating universities and the judges from various Dubai high schools and businesses. And of course, we are very proud of our UOWD students today for their outstanding performance. The American University of Sharjah was named 2nd place overall, followed by MAHE-Manipal in 3rd. Other participating universities included The American University of Dubai, BITS-Pilani, ECMIT, IITM, Preston University, Gulf Medical College, Mahatma Gandhi University, and Skyline College. List of Winners Public AddressShirin Sheikh - American University of SharjahKatikay Khandelwal - BITS PilaniSaadiya Mohd Rafique - Preston University ImpromptuRohini Kamath - UOWDAmmarah Naveen - Preston UniversitySamihah S Zaman - American University of Sharjah ExtemporaneousBushra Yakoob - UOWDSalin Abbas - American University of SharjahShrey Sanger - BITS Pilani Radio NewsreadingIba Masood - American University of SharjahAnandha Kumar - MAHE ManipalMonisha Mirchandani - American University in Dubai Storytelling TraditionalAakanksha Singh - MAHE-ManipalVictoria Ho - Mahatma Gandhi UniversityRumana Sadekar - UOWD Storytelling OriginalTyson Fernandes - UOWDJoviata Castelino - MAHE-ManipalLayla Sharif - American University of Sharjah Overall WinnerUOWDAmerican University of SharjahMAHE-Manipal