Your Australian University in Dubai

News Article

Wollongong triumphs as inaugural Commonwealth University of the Year

Tuesday, 12 December, 2006

The University of Wollongong, Australia, has won the Times Higher Education Supplement (THES) inaugural award as "Commonwealth University of the Year".

The announcement was made at a glittering awards ceremony held in London. UOW was the only short-listed Australian university.

The "Commonwealth University of Year" award 2006 was run for the first time in conjunction with the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

The award, open to all higher education institutions in the Commonwealth excluding those from the UK, focused on how universities achieved community engagement. There were 18 THES awards in total, with the "Commonwealth University of the Year" award being the only one open to universities outside of the UK.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wollongong, Professor Gerard Sutton, said the announcement was "fantastic news" and clear recognition of the University's remarkable community engagement achievements, particularly its contribution to regional development.